Rides’ Thrill Rating – How is it Determined?

When you walk up to a ride, you will usually see a safety guide next to the ride. If you don’t, the park is in trouble. Safety guides for rides provide the “Thrill Rating” for the ride, which to be honest is not very accurate in my opinion. How is the rating determined?

There is a scale from 1-5 with 1 being very mild and 5 being super aggressive!

The way a thrill rating is determined is by testing stats.

Rider height, drop, speed, and intensity is the main factors that go into a thrill rating.

Any ride that is launched is automatically a 5. Any kiddie roller coasters have to be built to be a 1-2 thrill rating.  Those types of rides CANNOT excede that to ensure the ride is appropriate for little children. You can find small kiddie coasters and areas in amusement/theme parks with these types of thrill ratings.

The height, drop, and speed all play a huge factor in the thrill rating.

If a ride’s height = 300 feet, drop = 280 feet, and speed = 80 miles per hour:

You can expect it to be rated a 5. Those 3 factors determine the intensity of the ride which is how the thrill factor is determined.

A ride that is 125 feet, drop 125 feet, and speed = 60 miles per hour:

You can expect it to have a 4 rating for the thrill factor. It still provides a high thrill.

Here are the thrill factors:

1: Very Low Thrill

2: Low Thrill

3: Mild Thrill

4: High Thrill

5: Very High Thrill

Each park has a different “title” of the thrill factors, but this is the just of what you can expect of a ride based on its thrill factor.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s